RIBA Beacon winner announced

RIBA Beacon winner announced

October 16, 2023 Off By admin

We’re thrilled to announce the winner of our Bradford 2025 and RIBA (Royal Institute of British Architects) design competition to select a team for an iconic travelling performance space. Carter Gregson Gray with Studio Three Sixty, Structure Workshop & Studio 4215 have been selected as the overall winner from a shortlist of five teams.

The winning design concept for the Beacon acts as a hub to capture and record the many stories, experiences and narratives that will emerge along the journey.  The design will be highly flexible so that it can be adapted and reconfigured between events and respond to different physical locations.  A key approach led by the design team will include collaboration with all of the district’s communities to create a Bradford identity for the temporary, travelling performance space.   

Carter Gregson Gray will now work with Bradford 2025 to develop their design proposal further.  

“The second phase of the competition facilitated five shortlisted teams to propose a design and methods for developing the Beacon performance venue All of the teams demonstrated diverse and interesting design responses, addressing aspects of the client’s brief and ambition in design, materials, and practice, that stimulate debates and unpack the meaning of decolonising spatial design.” Tumpa Husna Yasmin Fellows, co-founder and director of Our Building Design and RIBA Architect Adviser for the competition  

“To us, the Beacon represents an incredible opportunity to create an icon for Bradford 2025, a venue that celebrates Bradford’s heritage and its diverse communities through social gathering, performances and artistic collaborations. We want to use the structure of the performance space to capture and record the many stories, experiences and narratives that will emerge, and we look forward to working with the Bradford 2025 team to develop the design over the coming weeks.” Jack Carter, Carter Gregson Gray 


The other shortlisted teams were 

  • APPARATA Architects with Arinjoy Sen and Structure Workshop 
  • GWP Architecture Ltd + FAUM Architecture with EMPACE and Bradford Moor Pass 
  • IF Design Office Ltd with Street Space Community CIC and Simple Works TLD 
  • New Practice with Common Wealth and Reeves & Bond